Board of Education Meetings

Policies governing education, human resources and funding and other matters for the Southeast Polk Community School District are established by a seven-member Board of Education who are elected by residents of the District. In addition, the student council president of Southeast Polk High School serves as a non-voting member of the board and represents the district’s students.

The Board holds regular meetings on the first and third Thursdays of each month at the District Office at 5:30 p.m. Agendas for the meetings are printed one week prior to each meeting. They are posted at the District Office, at each District school and on this section of the website. Unofficial minutes of the meetings also are posted on this site.

All Board of Education meetings are open to the public as required by Iowa Law. There may be a portion of a meeting or all of a meeting, that is operated as a legally closed session and not open to the public. Examples of items that may be dealt with at such a meeting include: a student hearing that may result in suspension or expulsion of the student; personnel issues; union negotiations; and administrative evaluations.

2017 2018 SEP School Board Meeting Dates


School Board Members

Brett HandyBrett Handy – President
Brett.Handy@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0048 (H)
Gary FischerGary Fischer – Vice President
Gary.Fischer@Southeastpolk.org
515-288-5000 (W)
515-957-0549 (H)
 

Adam Krell – Board Member
Adam.Krell@southeastpolk.org
515-344-5074

 

Ric Powell – Board Member
Ric.Powell@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0057

Tom NaeveTom Naeve – Board Member
Tom.Naeve@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-3129 (H)
Bill PuffettBill Puffett – Board Member
William.Puffett@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-7426 (H)
Lori SlingsLori Slings – Board Member
Lori.Slings@Southeastpolk.org
515-245-5624 (W)
515-975-8240 (H)
DirkDr. Dirk Halupnik – Superintendent
Dirk.Halupnik@Southeastpolk.org
515-957-3405 (W)

Frequently Asked Questions