Board of Education Meetings

Policies governing education, human resources and funding and other matters for the Southeast Polk Community School District are established by a seven-member Board of Education who are elected by residents of the District. In addition, the student council president of Southeast Polk High School serves as a non-voting member of the board and represents the district’s students.

Generally, the Board holds regular meetings on the first and third Thursdays of each month at the District Office at 5:30 p.m. Agendas for the meetings are printed one week prior to each meeting. They are posted at the District Office, at each District school and on this section of the website. Unofficial minutes of the meetings also are posted on this site.

All Board of Education meetings are open to the public as required by Iowa Law. There may be a portion of a meeting or all of a meeting, that is operated as a legally closed session and not open to the public. Examples of items that may be dealt with at such a meeting include: a student hearing that may result in suspension or expulsion of the student; personnel issues; union negotiations; and administrative evaluations.

The 2020-2021 Board Meeting dates are listed below.
Meeting Dates:

July 16, 2020
August 6, 2020
August 20, 2020
September 3, 2020
September 17, 2020
October 1, 2020
October 15, 2020
November 5, 2020
November 19, 2020
December 17, 2020
January 7, 2021
January 21, 2021
February 4, 2021
February 18, 2021
March 11, 2021
April 1, 2021
April 15, 2021
May 6, 2021
May 20, 2021
June 10, 2021
July 15, 2021

School Board Members

IsenPhoto 1228 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Gary Fischer – President
Gary.Fischer@Southeastpolk.org
515-288-5000 (W)
515-957-0549 (H)

IsenPhoto 1241 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Tom Naeve – Vice President
Tom.Naeve@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-3129 (H)

IsenPhoto 1212 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Adam Krell – Board Member
Adam.Krell@southeastpolk.org
515-344-5074

IsenPhoto 1218 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Ric Powell – Board Member
Ric.Powell@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0057

IsenPhoto 1234 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Lori Slings – Board Member
Lori.Slings@Southeastpolk.org
515-245-5624 (W)
515-975-8240 (H)

IsenPhoto 1206 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Chad Crabb – Board Member
Chad.Crabb@southeastpolk.org
(515) 745-9409

IsenPhoto 1247 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Brett Handy – Board Member
Brett.Handy@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0048 (H)

IsenPhoto 1224 WebSized

 

 

 

 

Dr. Dirk Halupnik – Superintendent
Dirk.Halupnik@Southeastpolk.org
515-957-3405 (W)

Frequently Asked Questions