Board of Education Meetings

Policies governing education, human resources and funding and other matters for the Southeast Polk Community School District are established by a seven-member Board of Education who are elected by residents of the District. In addition, the student council president of Southeast Polk High School serves as a non-voting member of the board and represents the district’s students.

Generally, the Board holds regular meetings on the first and third Thursdays of each month at the District Office at 5:30 p.m. Agendas for the meetings are printed one week prior to each meeting. They are posted at the District Office, at each District school and on this section of the website. Unofficial minutes of the meetings also are posted on this site.

All Board of Education meetings are open to the public as required by Iowa Law. There may be a portion of a meeting or all of a meeting, that is operated as a legally closed session and not open to the public. Examples of items that may be dealt with at such a meeting include: a student hearing that may result in suspension or expulsion of the student; personnel issues; union negotiations; and administrative evaluations.

The 2018-2019 Board Meeting dates have tentatively been scheduled.  The Board will review and make any necessary adjustments:

Meeting Date
July 19, 2018
August 2, 2018
August 16, 2018
September 13, 2018
October 4, 2018
October 18, 2018
November 1, 2018
November 15, 2018
December 13, 2018
January 3, 2019
January 17, 2019
February 7, 2019
February 21, 2019
March 14, 2019
April 4, 2019
April 18, 2019
May 2, 2019
May 16, 2019

School Board Members

Brett HandyBrett Handy – President
Brett.Handy@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0048 (H)
Gary FischerGary Fischer – Vice President
Gary.Fischer@Southeastpolk.org
515-288-5000 (W)
515-957-0549 (H)
Adam Board Pic

Adam Krell – Board Member
Adam.Krell@southeastpolk.org
515-344-5074

Ric Powell Board

Ric Powell – Board Member
Ric.Powell@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0057

Tom NaeveTom Naeve – Board Member
Tom.Naeve@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-3129 (H)
Bill PuffettBill Puffett – Board Member
William.Puffett@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-7426 (H)
Lori SlingsLori Slings – Board Member
Lori.Slings@Southeastpolk.org
515-245-5624 (W)
515-975-8240 (H)
DirkDr. Dirk Halupnik – Superintendent
Dirk.Halupnik@Southeastpolk.org
515-957-3405 (W)

Frequently Asked Questions