Board of Education Meetings

Policies governing education, human resources and funding and other matters for the Southeast Polk Community School District are established by a seven-member Board of Education who are elected by residents of the District. In addition, the student council president of Southeast Polk High School serves as a non-voting member of the board and represents the district’s students.

Generally, the Board holds regular meetings on the first and third Thursdays of each month at the District Office at 5:30 p.m. Agendas for the meetings are printed one week prior to each meeting. They are posted at the District Office, at each District school and on this section of the website. Unofficial minutes of the meetings also are posted on this site.

All Board of Education meetings are open to the public as required by Iowa Law. There may be a portion of a meeting or all of a meeting, that is operated as a legally closed session and not open to the public. Examples of items that may be dealt with at such a meeting include: a student hearing that may result in suspension or expulsion of the student; personnel issues; union negotiations; and administrative evaluations.

The 2019-2020 Board Meeting dates have tentatively been scheduled.  The Board will review and make any necessary adjustments:

Meeting Date
July 18, 2019
August 1, 2019
August 15, 2019
September 5, 2019
September 19, 2019
October 3, 2019
October 17, 2019
November 7, 2019
November 21, 2019
December 12, 2019
January 9, 2020
January 23, 2020
February 6, 2020
February 20, 2020
March 12, 2020
April 2, 2020
April 16, 2020
May 7, 2020
May 21, 2020
June 11, 2020
July 16, 2020

School Board Members

Lori SlingsLori Slings – President
Lori.Slings@Southeastpolk.org
515-245-5624 (W)
515-975-8240 (H)
Tom Naeve

Tom Naeve – Vice President
Tom.Naeve@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-3129 (H)

Adam Board Pic

Adam Krell – Board Member
Adam.Krell@southeastpolk.org
515-344-5074

Ric Powell Board

Ric Powell – Board Member
Ric.Powell@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0057

Gary Fischer

Gary Fischer – Board Member
Gary.Fischer@Southeastpolk.org
515-288-5000 (W)
515-957-0549 (H)

Bill PuffettBill Puffett – Board Member
William.Puffett@Southeastpolk.org
515-967-7426 (H)
Brett Handy

Brett Handy – Board Member
Brett.Handy@Southeastpolk.org
515-979-0048 (H)

DirkDr. Dirk Halupnik – Superintendent
Dirk.Halupnik@Southeastpolk.org
515-957-3405 (W)

Frequently Asked Questions