Election Results – Unofficial

The Southeast Polk Community School District would like to thank everyone who took the time to vote yesterday in the school board election. We appreciate your continued support of our district and students as we all work together on fostering academic excellence, creating safe environments for learning, and being fiscally responsible. 

We also thank all of the candidates who ran. We recognize the commitment and dedication all were willing to give by volunteering to be on the school board. 

The unofficial results of the election indicate that the following three candidates received the most votes to become a Southeast Polk School Board member: Ric Powell, Brigid Ernst, and Whitney Smith McIntosh. 

Please Note: Election results are not official until after being fully canvassed by the Polk County Auditors. This process may take a couple of weeks. 

The new board members will be sworn in at the November 18, 2021 board meeting. This will also be the last meeting for our outgoing board members. 

2021 School Board Election Unofficial Results

Election Information


School board elections will be held this year on Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2021.

Polls are open from 7:00 am until 8:00 pm.

There will be three seats on the ballot.


School Board Polling Locations 2021

You can also follow this link and enter your specific address to find your polling location: Find your Polling Place


Board Candidate Information

A candidate must be an eligible elector in the school district at the time of the election. An eligible elector must be a citizen of the United States, be a resident of Iowa, and be at least 18 years old. The filing period for school board candidates ended at 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 16. The following individuals have filed nomination papers:


The School Board

The School Board represents the parents and citizens of our community. At Southeast Polk, school board directors are elected at-large and represent the entire school district. They receive no compensation for their service as a school board director. Each school board director is elected for a term of four years. Terms are staggered to ensure continuity of leadership.