17 Southeast Polk Students Selected for the 2019 National Council on Youth Leadership Conference at Drake University.

National Council on Youth Leadership is an exclusive leadership seminar that was held on Monday, September 9, 2019 at Drake University. Approximately 250 students from 23 area high schools were selected to attend for their leadership qualities and scholastic record. After a day-long leadership seminar at Drake University, students along with their families were invited to a recognition dinner. 

Southeast Polk Students Selected for National Council on Youth Leadership: 

  • Jager Charleston
  • Gabe Christenson 
  • Shelley Engel
  • Tarryn Hill
  • Mariah Kacer
  • Rachel Kaut
  • Matalyn Kincaid
  • Hadleigh Markun
  • Emma Marshall
  • Aubri McClung
  • Madelyn Northway
  • Kailee Quang
  • CJ Reece
  • Regan Trexel
  • Meredith Vorwerk
  • Lucas Vroom
  • Katelyn Wright

Four central Iowa NCYL students will be chosen as Youth Leaders of the Year based upon their application, essay, and seminar participation. These four students will receive an expenses-paid trip to the national NCYL conference, Town Meeting on Tomorrow, in St. Louis on October 19-23, 2019.

NCYL is dedicated to recognizing, encouraging and developing the leadership skills of today’s youth. The mission of NCYL is to create public awareness of the importance and power of youth leadership, provide information to help build advanced leadership skills, and encourage community involvement in recognition and support of our youth. The Greater Des Moines chapter is facilitated by the Robert D. and Billie Ray Center at Drake University, which offers a variety of public awareness activities and programming, including CHARACTER COUNTS!