October 21, 2017 was a great day for the Southeast Polk High School Music Department at the Iowa All State Band, Choir, and Orchestra Auditions held at Indianola High School.

Nine instrumentalists and five vocalists from Southeast Polk gained acceptance to the All State Band, Orchestra and Choir. Their performances will fill Iowa State’s Hilton Coliseum with music on Saturday, November 18.

Like thousands of other high school musicians across the state, Southeast Polk music students worked very hard for this audition. The All State audition process is intense, and just to audition takes months of dedicated effort. The resulting musical growth young Iowa musicians undergo is enormous.

Accepted to the All State Choir: Peyton Goode, Soprano, Travis Errthum, Tenor, Gavin Runles, Tenor, Chance Reeves, tenor, and Ozzie Padilla, bass. First Alternate to the All State Choir is Kaylee Tiffin, alto.

Accepted to the All State Band: Ben Hukvari, Clarinet, Jaeden Scheller, Bass Clarinet, Sophia Patchin, Bassoon, Katy Meunier, Horn, Logan TeKolste, Horn and Evan Perry, Trombone. First Alternate to the All State Band is Emma Pellegrino, Tuba.

Accepted to the All State Orchestra: Nathan Joy, Bassoon, Nick Shellenberg, Bass, and Andrew Gjersvik, Percussion.

The 2017 All State Music Festival will celebrate the 71st anniversary of this prestigious event.  District Auditions for the 281-piece All-State Band, 201-piece All-State Orchestra and 601-member All-State Chorus were held at Storm Lake, Hampton, Independence, Atlantic, Indianola and Washington.  Approximately 17% of the students who audition are selected for membership in the All-State ensembles.  

Participants will rehearse in Ames on Friday and Saturday, November 17 and 18, and the Festival Concert will be presented to the public at 7:30 P.M. in Hilton Coliseum, Iowa State University, Ames, on Saturday evening, November 18, 2017. Iowa Public Television will record the concert for re-broadcast. Please check the IPTV website (www.iptv.org) for the exact dates and times. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association.