Southeast Polk High School Mathematics Teacher Joel Conn was appointed to the Executive Board for ICTM, Iowa Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Conn is currently serving as the Regional Director for the Heartland AEA region.  The mission of the ICTM board is to encourage an active interest in mathematics and its teaching, and work toward the improvement of mathematics education programs in Iowa.  

“I joined ICTM because I am very passionate about preparing students to be successful at the next level.  ICTM is an excellent resource for collaboration with colleagues from around the state, providing an avenue for me to learn and improve my teaching effectiveness for Southeast Polk students.  It is a privilege to serve on the ICTM executive board and have the opportunity to promote active ICTM membership and teacher engagement at SEP, as well as, throughout the Heartland AEA region,” shared Conn.

The Iowa Council of Teachers of Mathematics is the premiere organization solely dedicated to serving the needs of mathematics teachers in Iowa.

Jayne Beecham, Southeast Polk Math Coordinator, shared, “Southeast Polk is fortunate that Joel is able to represent our school district and provide a voice in the areas of teaching and learning mathematics at all levels. He collaborates with educators from across the state and shares his expertise in mathematics education.”

Conn has also been recently elected to the position of Vice President of the Iowa Precalculus Advisory Council or IPAC.  IPAC members are instructors from Iowa colleges, universities, community colleges and high schools that strive to promote the improvement in the quality of precalculus education in Iowa.  Conn shared, “I’ve been one of the PreCalculus instructors at Southeast Polk for almost 20 years and joined IPAC to ensure that SEP students were as prepared as they could be to major in STEM fields of study, no matter what institution of higher learning they chose to attend.”

Mr. Conn has worked for the Southeast Polk Community School District for 29 years, beginning his tenure here in 1990. Congratulations on receiving this honor and serving not only our students but students across the state of Iowa.