Janet Riordan, Four Mile Kindergarten teacher, is one of five Iowa educators being honored as a finalist in the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Randy Mohning, Four Mile Principal shared,

“We’re proud to have Janet Riordan represent Four Mile as a finalist in the prestigious Presidential Award. Job well done!”

Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.

The PAEMST program, administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, recognizes outstanding teachers for their contributions to the teaching and learning of mathematics and science.

PAEMST is the highest recognition that a kindergarten-through-12th grade mathematics or science (including computer science) teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Since 1983, more than 5,000 teachers nationwide have been recognized for this honor.

Other finalists include:


  • Angie Bonthuis, kindergarten, Gilbert Community School District
  • Janet Riordan, kindergarten, Southeast Polk Community School District
  • Angela Schneden, first grade, Ankeny Community School District


  • Sarah Borzo, former 6th Grade Science Teacher, Waukee Community School District (now Education and Outreach Coordinator for Metro Waste Authority)
  • Debra Huftalin, 3rd grade teacher, Osage Community Schools

Mrs. Riordan has been with the SEP School district since 1998. Congratulations!

Winners will be announced later this year.