Congratulations to the Southeast Polk staff members who recently received Meta grants!  And thank you Meta for providing us the opportunities to acquire technology to better serve our students!

Meta Grant Award Winner - ChristensonHigh School Special Needs teacher Amanda Christenson received funds to provide the technology needed for augmentative communication devices and enhanced social and emotional learning interventions for special needs students.







High School Industrial Tech teacher Steve McCoy’s grant enhances skilled and technical trades instruction with our new CNC lathe machine. Meta Grant Winner - McCoy

Carrie Anstine, 3rd Grade Delaware teacher, shares, “Our goal is to create an inclusive STEM environment that provides opportunities for all students to experience STEM learning. This space would provide a long-term solution for STEM work and storage.”

Meta Grant Winner - Anstine

Jim Pifer our Preschool-12 Science Coordinator received funds to enhance STEAM and career readiness programming across the district.

Meta Grant Winner - Pifer

Home School Assistance Program teachers Karen Kyer, Lora Rawson and Deb Zieman accepted funds to support developing technology connections and enhancing STEM education for SEP home school students.

Meta Grant Winner - Home School Teachers

Jamie Gilchrist, Preschool-12 Instructional Technology Coordinator, shares the Meta Grant is for the “Coding is elementary” project, an extension of the beebots and indi robots to continue to explore computer science for our elementaries. Meta Grant Winner - Gilchrist

“Personal Computing Devices -Technology is intricately entwined into many aspects of students’ everyday lives. As a result, the state of Iowa has adopted computer science standards to guarantee exposure, understanding, and knowledge of computer science principles of topics such as programming, impacts of computing, data and analysis, as well as networks and the internet for all students beginning in kindergarten. This project will allow us to pilot new technologies to enhance the teaching of computer science.” 

Again, congratulations to the grant winners and thank you to Meta!  We look forward to continuing to share how these grants come to fruition.