Activities

Band- 8th grade

Victoria Hillabolt        Victoria.Hillabolt@southeastpolk.org

 Band- 7th grade

Lee Raine Randall leeraine.randall@southeastpolk.org

 Band – Jazz Band 8th

Wednesdays in Room 421 (Oct-Feb): 3-4 PM Everyday During 6B Flex in Room 421

Victoria Hillabolt        victoria.hillabolt@southeastpolk.org

Jazz band students get to build on their prior experience and participate in the competitive component at the annual  SEP Jazz Festival. Students take pride in participation and are committed to practice and musical growth throughout the season.

Band – Jazz Band 7th

T/TH in Room 422(Oct.-Feb.): 6:40-7:30 AM

Lee Raine Randall LeeRaine.Randall@southeastpolk.org

This is a great opportunity  to learn about this style of music, work on independent part playing and improvisation. Students take pride in participation and are committed to practice and musical growth throughout the season.

 Musical

(Auditions will be held) 7th-8th Grade (Boys & Girls)

(Jan.- May)

Show Choir – Sudden Impulse

(Audition Only)7th-8th Grade (Boys & Girls)

M/F -Room 425 (Sep.—April): 6:45-7:20am

Sponsor: Katherine Hyland

Katherine.hyland@southeastpolk.org

Competitive Show Choir that competes at 4 competitions all around Iowa.  Auditions will be held in September with 5 Saturday rehearsals. We are looking for 50 talented students to make this a winning team.

 

 

Student Council

Meetings held in Ms. Larsen’s room 146 (times TBD)

8th graders (Sept-May)  – 7th grade representatives from previous year

7th graders (Jan-May)  – applications will be made available in December

Amanda Larsen – amanda.larsen@southeastpolk.org

Provides students the opportunity to serve in a leadership role, while participating in activities to improve the environment of the school. Responsibilities may include organizing school-wide events, providing service to the community  and serving as a voice to the student body.  Representatives are selected based on their application and essay.  The selection committee consists of teachers, administrators, and counselors, instead of a school-wide election.

Vocal Music – 7th grade

Katherine Hyland

Katherine.hyland@southeastpolk.org

Vocal Music – 8th grade

Katherine Hyland

Katherine.hyland@southeastpolk.org

 

Boys Cross Country 7TH & 8TH

Head Coach: Scott Wittler scott.wittler@southeastpolk.org

August-October

Practices: Monday -Friday 3-4:30 PM

Boys Basketball -8TH GRADE 

Head Coach: Chad Redmon chad.redmon@southeastpolk.org

January- February

Practices: Monday – Thursday – 2:45- 5:00 PM

Friday – 6 -7:00 AM

Boys Track 7TH & 8TH 

Head Coach: Eric Hendrickson eric.hendrickson@southeastpolk.org

March- May

Practices: Monday – Friday 3- 4:30 PM

Girls Cross Country 7TH & 8TH 

Head Coach: Jay Harvey; jay.harvey@southeastpolk.org

August – October

Practices: Monday- Friday 2:45 – 4:30 PM

Girls Basketball – 8TH GRADE

Head Coach: Tia Stiles christianna.stiles@southeastpolk.org

October- December

Practices : Monday – Thursday 3- 5PM     Fridays  6AM- 7:10 AM

Girls Track   7TH & 8TH 

Head Coach: Scott Wittler            scott.wittler@southeastpolk.org

March – May

Practices: Monday – Friday 2:45  – 4:30 PM

Boys Golf 7TH & 8TH

Head Coach: Ryan Henderson Ryan.henderson@southeastpolk.org

September – October

Practices: Monday – Thursday 3- 5PM

Boys Swimming 7TH & 8TH 

Head Coach: Dustin Cassler dustin.cassler@southeastpolk.org

February -March

Practices: Monday – Friday 3-5 PM

Girls Golf  7TH & 8TH

Head Coach: Jayden Clark

jayden.clark@southeastpolk.org

April – May

Practices: Monday – Thursday 3- 5PM

Girls Swimming 7TH & 8TH 

Head Coach: Madelyn Kieler madelyn.kieler@southeastpolk.org

February -March

Practices: Monday – Friday 3-5 PM

Football 8TH GRADE 

Head Coach: Chris Starostka christopher.starostka@southeastpolk.org

August – October

Practices: Monday – Friday 2:45- 5:30 PM

 Wrestling  7TH & 8TH 

Head Coach: Tom Koch thomas.koch@southeastpolk.org

October – December

Practices: Monday – Thursday 3-5 PM    Friday  6 AM- 7AM

 Softball  8TH grade

Head Coach: Joshua Cerveny               joshua.cerveny @southeastpolk.org

May – June

Girls Volleyball 8TH grade

Head Coach: Martha Mericle Martha.mericle@southeastpolk.org

August – October

Practices: Monday – Friday 3- 5 PM

Weightlifting Club

Ryan Henderson Ryan.henderson@southeastpolk.org

(Oct-May) Monday & Thursday – 6:10 – 7:10 am

All 7th-8th Grade (Boys/Girls) can sign up and participate in strength sessions that will focus on learning correct technique, building strength, general mobility, and injury prevention. Students that are in Personal Fitness class can use this as a 3rd training day (you get 2/week in class), and students that are not will get 2 training sessions per week. Training programs will be designed for both groups to help maximize your sport performance and overall health. This is not an open lift, but a planned program for those that are serious about developing strength.
Broadway Buddies

Stephanie Henry

Stephanie.henry@southeastpolk.org

SEP JH Broadway Buddies is a unique opportunity to bring students with special needs and peer buddies together to build friendships, performance skills, language skills, and to have fun. Peer buddies selected to participate in this club will be paired up with a friend with special needs to help them learn dance moves, short introduction speeches, and songs to be performed during a winter show and a spring show. An application process may be necessary depending on the number of those interested.